2014 Champagne Classic Nominations Released

May 6th, 2014

A talented field of 14 has been nominated for an appearance in the 2014 Group 2 Champagne Classic (1200m) at Brisbane’s Doomben Racecourse, highlighted by several noted performers from the two-year-old autumn carnival.

Time For War has been included in nominations for the 2014 Champagne Classic

Time For War has been included in nominations for the 2014 Champagne Classic. Photo: Steve Hart

Producing an impressive start to his racing career, Time For War is poised to deliver trainer Gerald Ryan further success in two-year-old events in 2014 having been included in nominations for the 2014 Champagne Classic.

Comfortably claiming the CFMEU Mining & Energy Plate (1100m) on debut in November, the Snitzel colt returned to racing in typically scintillating form this season; winning the Group 2 Pago Pago Stakes (1200m) with ease first-up before producing an impressive turn of foot to overcome poor position and finish fourth in the Group 1 ATC Sires’ Produce Stakes (1400m) last time out.

Geared towards an appearance in the major Group 1 J.J. Atkins (1600m) on June 7th, Ryan is confident the growing form and class of Time For War will count for a lot in this weekend’s Champagne Classic.

Also included in nominations for the 2014 Champagne Classic is well-trialled filly Eloping.

Contesting an impressive total of four wins and one place from seven competitive appearances so far, Eloping will line up for this weekend’s Group 2 as arguably the most experienced runner.

Debuting with a near three length victory in the BJC Members Celebration Maiden (900m) on December 22nd, the Choisir filly quickly laid her claims as a two-year-old to watch this calendar with a comfortable win amongst classy company in the Listed Blue Diamond Preview (1000m) on January 25th.

Producing a keen turn of foot to finish just off the pace of leading two-year-old Earthquake in the Group 3 Blue Diamond Prelude F (1100m) on February 8th, Eloping has continued her strong run of form through all proceeding events; finishing seventh in the particularly well contested and major Group 1 Golden Slipper (1200m) and returning to the winner’s circle in the Group 3 Royal Randwick Stakes (1200m) most recently.

Unable to handle the late pace when fifth in the Listed Lonhro Plate (1100m) last time out, trainer Chris Waller has elected to nominate Brazan Beau for a maiden appearance north of the border in this weekend’s Champagne Classic.

Winner of the Australian Turf Club Handicap (1100m) in his only start prior to the Lonhro Plate, Waller is confident the typically firmer tracks of Brisbane will suit the running style of the I Am Invincible colt, and is confident of success this weekend particularly if allocated a favourable barrier.

Trainer John O’Shea appears likely to be offered twice the chance of success in the 2014 Champagne Classic, having nominated talented stable mates Mohave and Shaumari for an appearance this weekend.

Winner of the Listed Blue Diamond Preview C&G (1000m) most notably, Mohave arguably offers O’Shea his great chance of success in the Champagne Classic, having finishing sixth in the Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes (1200m) last time out.

Impressive when third in the Royal Randwick Stakes last time out, Shaumari is without doubt the unknown force leading into the 2013 Champagne Classic and appears capable of overcoming both wide draws and inclement track conditions.

A final field and barrier draw for the 2014 Champagne Classic is due to be released on Wednesday morning.

Ladbrokes.com.au is currently offering the best odds on all races at Doomben this weekend, including the Group 2 Champagne Classic!

Open an account and deposit at Ladbrokes.com.au today to claim a bonus bet of up to $250!

214 Champagne Classic Nominations

# Horse Trainer
1 AMIZADE Desleigh Forster
2 ASTER BLOOM Kelly Purdy
3 BRAZEN BEAU Chris Waller
4 DEUCED Gillian Heinrich
5 ELOPING Peter Morgan & Craig Widdison
6 FURBISH Allan Denham
8 I’M CHILLIN’ Desleigh Forster
10 MOHAVE John O’Shea
11 PINCH RIVER Robert Heathcote
12 SHAUMARI John O’Shea
13 STROAK Bryan Guy
14 TIME FOR WAR Gerald Ryan